Ruins of Berlin: Krankenhaus Mariendorf

I have to apologize for my long inactivity. Since my return to Berlin I’ve been pretty busy getting my life back on track and did not a lot of time to go out taking pictures of stuff. Until yesterday. Apparently, Berlin has a lot to offer when it comes to abandoned buildings and ruins. I will try and explore some of those places during the next months. So this kind of modern urban “spelunking” and the occasional vacation will make up most my pictures and stories in the months to come.

Anyway, a friend of mine and myself went to Krankenhaus Marienfelde in Berlin to explore this place which has been built 100 years ago during World War 1. It has been abondoned a while a ago and eversince served squatters and homeless people as shelter, vandals have been tearing it apart or leaving their “art” along the walls. After climbing the fence and getting into the building, it seemed like the had the place to ourselves. It was a little scary though. For one thing you never know who else might be hanging out in those seemingly empty ruins. But on top of that the buidling is not in the best shape so we had to be very careful where we stepped to make sure the floor and the ceiling above would stay where they were.

Anyway, we did not run into any unpleasant company there. And we did not get buried underneath any ceiling that may have come crashing down. I hope you enjoy these pictures. They are very different from what I published during my time in Australia.

Leave a Reply

